Janet B. Royster Memorial Staff Scholarship

The purpose of the Janet B. Royster Memorial Staff Scholarship Fund is to provide scholarship(s) to full-time, permanent non-faculty employees who are taking either undergraduate or graduate level courses at an accredited institution of higher education, or enrolled in approved – short courses, licensure, certificate or continuing education programs that supports staff development.

The Fund has been established in memory of Janet B. Royster, a UNC-TV employee who provided important leadership, knowledge and dedication of the UNC Staff Assembly where she served as its first Parliamentarian until her untimely death in June 2011.

The JBR Memorial Staff Scholarship provides one or more annual awards, based on the availability of funds. Scholarships provide assistance towards earning a degree or other professional certification.  Applicants are encouraged to describe how the educational program relates to the applicant’s career goals. Recipients are selected by a Selection Committee.

Award payments will be made directly to the school, provider, or vendor indicated in the applicants application. The scholarship can be applied to the cost of tuition, fees, books, or registration fees. The maximum award amount for the 2021-2022 academic year is $500. Awards are not automatically renewable from year to year. Interested parties must apply each year.

Application Deadlines:

  • The application period begins on August 15 and runs through September 30 of each year.
Apply for your scholarship