NC STATE Staff Senate

NC State Staff Senate

General Meeting Minutes- Retreat Wednesday, July 8, 2015 Lonnie Poole Club House

Present: Miriam Hines, Melanie Clark, Mindi James, Latoya Giles, Katherine Elliot, Maria Moreno, Jason Painter, Yolanda Sanders, Patti Woodbury, John Starbuck, Todd Becker, Kimberly Davis, Brenda Blackman, Nikki Cofield, Jean Lembke, Abe Jones, Angkana Bode, Matthew High, Charles Craig, Michael Ellison, Mark Michaelson, Shanna Harwell, Sharon Herring, Tenille Naumann, Joseph Whitehead, Jim Stewart, David Kelly, Issac Lewis, Krystal Chojnacki, Wendy Koch, Angela Hallman, David Hawley, Cathi Phillips Dunnagan, Anna Lamm, Jasmine Omorogbe, Wyona Goodwin, Eloise Chisom-Ubani, Sharmeen Williams-Nokes, Jill Phipps, Kathryn Hair, Barbara Walker, Rachelle Robinson, Jenell Wass, Teresa Story, Donise Benton, Aires Eatmon, Pat Gaddy, Beverly Beland, Cheryl Tripp

Excused: Audrey Hendriks, Jason Joyner, Molly Bradshaw, Antoinette Norton, Sara Seltzer

Absent: Anthony Brown, Charles Cline, Zackery Dean

Year End Session:

NC State Staff Senate held its first meeting of the 21St session as a retreat. The event was hosted at the Lonnie Poole Club House.

Chancellor Randy Woodson addressed all new senators and thanked them for their contributions to NC State Staff. He also shared the many changes and wonderful improvements going on and around campus.

Past Chair Robert Davis, recognized Senators who served the 2013-2015 term by presenting each with a certificate of appreciation for their service.

Order of Business:

Call to Order:

The Staff Senate Chair, Wyona Goodwin called the meeting to order at 10:00am

Roll Call:

Taken by Nancy Phillips- Senators Present 44, Absent and/or Excused: 8

New Business:

Currently 5 districts do not have Senate representation for terms 2015-2017. Two employees were nominated to fill 2 of the unrepresented districts (District 7 and District 12). The nominee's where put up for a vote and received a 44/0 of the votes. Mrs. Y. Sanders, will represent District 7 and Mr. D. Kelley, will represent District 12. Both Appointed Senators will serve the term of the seat which is up to two years contingent upon the next open election in those Districts.



NC State Staff Senate

General Meeting Minutes- Retreat Wednesday, July 8, 2015 Lonnie Poole Club House

As of July 1, 2015, the total number of Senators representing districts are, Elected Senators: 45; Alternates: 6; Appointed: 4

Senators met in committee to elect a new Chair, discuss goals and objectives for the year. Each committee Chair briefly reported back to the general group.

Madam Chair was able to secure a donation to purchase Staff Senate T-shirts and they were distributed during the retreat.

Madam Chair announced that she will start a gift fund for Staff Senate in honor of her late mother Sheila Wyona Young. The funds will primarily be used to award scholarships to eligible staff for training opportunities not covered by their employer and for an employee award program.

Districts where encouraged to meet and discuss future employee forums within their units/colleges.

Adjournment: The Staff Senate Retreat was adjourned at 3:10 p.m.